Pennjamin Bannekar Music
Showing posts with label beyonce. Show all posts
Showing posts with label beyonce. Show all posts
Friday, December 16, 2011
Love On Top (Cover) - Syesha
I can't stand this song but real recognize real... She cold blooded wit it!
Tuesday, June 28, 2011
Beyonce 4 (The Penn Review)
I listened to the Beyonce 4 album and I was just hoping it wasn't wack. I do like Beyonce's music but my favorite Beyonce album is Dangerously in Love. Of the 12 songs on the album, I liked 1+1, I Care, Rather Die Young, Love on Top, and End of Time. Party was "ok" and I really want to like that song because my favorite rapper Andre 3000 is on it. Countdown will be a joint that ladies will love. I can see yall in the club goin HAM over that joint. I can see "Best Thing I Never Had" being a ladies anthem for all them ex's yall still got feelings for or whatever. B does seem to be suffering from a lil bit of the Mary J. Blige syndrome though... screaming too much. Overall, I do like this album better than Sasha Fierce b/c I only liked 5 songs out of 16 on that album. I would give it a 3.75 out of 5.
Thursday, May 26, 2011
Just Wondering...
As Beyonce is getting ready to release her 4th album this summer I began to wonder about the thought process of creating your next album and how it differs from R&B/pop acts to hip hop acts. I've long said that singers have a easier road when it comes to this overall music grind in general, but this is a new dynamic I didn't previously realize before. I would argue that R&B/Pop acts don't have to show growth from album to album. They can sing about love until they're blue in the face and no one cares. Their subject matter is far more limited than hip hop. I feel as though a hip hop artist has to dig and create new and original masterpieces every time he or she goes into the studio to record an album. Let's face it, hip hop is judged harder than R&B/Pop and the shelf life of a hip hop artist vs. R&B/Pop artist is exponentially shorter. Feel free to disagree with me, but how many hip hop artists have had a sub par 2nd effort and gotten criticized for it where as a R&B/Pop artist may get a pass for a sub par sophomore album?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
